Tom Yum Gai

I just love Thai food so I thought I would start with sharing my version of Tom Yum Gai. This is a “Hot & Sour Soup” as it is referred to by many. The nice thing about this soup is you can make it as Mild or as Spicy as you like. I I like to have it about a Medium Heat so this recipe is about a Medium Heat, if you like less heat remove some of the Chilies.

What I love so much about Thai food is that all the ingredients used are fresh and full of Aroma and Flavor. I try to use only the freshest ingredients whenever possible, it makes a huge difference in the final outcome of the dish whatever it may be. I ran out of time to make my own Chicken Stock but I highly recommend it if possible. The Stock I am using is pretty good and has only 1% Sodium. Below is the recipe with pictures to help along the way. I hope that you will enjoy this Recipe and I will have more Thai dishes in the future.

  

Tom Yum Gai

1.5 ltr Chicken Stock

2 lrg Galangal (cut into 8 pieces)

12 Kaffir Lime Leaves

1 full Stem Lemon Grass (cut into large pieces)

1 ½ Fresh Limes (Juiced)

5 ½ tbsp. Fish Sauce

3 Fresh Red Thai Chilies (Add more if desired)

2 Fresh Chicken Breasts (Sliced thin)

12 lrg White Mushrooms (Cut into quarters)

¼ bunch Cilantro (Cut rough)

4 stems Green Onions (Cut into ½ “ pieces)

1 Bunch Thai Basil Leaves

Method

In a medium stock pot add Chicken Stock, Galangal, Kaffir Leaves, Lemon Grass, Limes, Fish Sauce and Thai Chilies and bring to a boil. Then add Mushrooms and thinly sliced Chicken Breast and simmer for about 20-25 minutes.

 

 

 

 

Remove Lemon Grass, Kaffir Leaves and Galangal and serve. Garnish with Green Onions, Thai Basil Leaves and Cilantro.

 

 

Author: harrychef

My name is Harry Passek and I am a Swiss trained red seal chef. I have been cooking for over 37 years and still love it!!i have always had a passion for cooking and with my many years of experiences I decided it was time for me to create a food blog and share my many many recipes and other culinary experiences. I own a restaurant with my wife Susan Passek and everything we make is made in house by us. In this blog I will over time share photos, cooking demos and more.

Tell me what you think