Harry ‘s Moroccan Brisket Tagine

I really enjoy foods from all over the world and Moroccan is right up there as one of my favorites. I just love all the different spices used in Moroccan cooking and love to create some of my own. Recently my wife and I purchased a side of beef so I thought how awesome it would be to make a Brisket Tagine. All the different spice blends used in Moroccan cooking is what inspired me to prepare this Moroccan Brisket Tagine. I hope you will enjoy this recipe as much as we did. There are two parts to this recipe and the spice blend I created is enough for two Briskets 3-5 pounds…

3-5lbs Piece of Brisket Trimmed

1 Onion Cut in half (See image)

2 Large Carrots (peeled & cut rough)

3 Celery Stalks (cut rough)

1 Large Portobello Mushroom

8-10 Garlic Cloves (chopped rough)

5 Pieces Pitted Dates (chopped rough)

4 Pieces Dried Apricots (chopped rough) I used Turkish Apricots

1 ½ Tbsp Moroccan Spice Blend (see recipe below)

1 tsp Kosher Salt

Beef Stock (you make or by in the store)

5 Tbsp Vegetable Oil

Method

 Brisket Prep

 

Take your trimmed Brisket and place on saran Wrap. With the Moroccan Spice Blend,Coat the Brisket very well on both sides and then wrap tightly with saran wrap and place in refrigerator for minimum 24 hours.

Preheat oven to 350°.

After at least 24 hours have passed heat up a large frying pan with 2 tbsps of oil until it begins to smoke slightly. Then add your marinated Brisket and sear well on both sides.

Remove from pan and set aside.In the same pan you seared the Brisket add the Onion halves to 1 Tbsp of oil and caramelize them. Remove the Onions from the pan and place in the bottom of the Tagine. Then add 2 Tbsp of oil and add the Carrots, Celery, Mushrooms, Dates, Apricots and Garlic and Sauté for about five minutes on med/high heat.Then add the Moroccan Spice Blend and Kosher Salt and sauté for a few more minutes, until the spices are blended in well. In a separate pot heat up the Beef stock.Once the Vegetable mixture is ready, place them into the bottom of Tagine over the Onions. Carefully place the Brisket on top of the Vegetables and pour the Hot Beef stock over the Brisket and Vegetables.

Place the lid on your Tagine and place in your oven that you have preheated to 350° for 2.5 to 3 hours.Once finished the Brisket should just fall apart with a fork.

To serve cut Brisket into Pieces, place on your plate and pour the Vegetable/Gravy mixture over the Brisket and serve. You can also serve it with a side of Couscous or Rice.

Enjoy everyone!!

Harry’s Moroccan Spice Blend

2 Tbsp Smoked Paprika

2 Tbsp Cumin

1 Tsp Extra Hot Chili Powder (1 Tbsp if Regular Not Hot)

½ tsp Ground Ginger Powder

1 Tbsp Garlic Powder

¼ Tsp All Spice

¼ Tsp Cinnamon

1 ½ Tbsp Brown Sugar

1 Tbsp Black Pepper

1 Tbsp Kosher Salt

Combine all Ingredients in a bowl and mix well. Set aside until needed.

 

Recipes by Harry Passek

Author: harrychef

My name is Harry Passek and I am a Swiss trained red seal chef. I have been cooking for over 37 years and still love it!!i have always had a passion for cooking and with my many years of experiences I decided it was time for me to create a food blog and share my many many recipes and other culinary experiences. I own a restaurant with my wife Susan Passek and everything we make is made in house by us. In this blog I will over time share photos, cooking demos and more.

Tell me what you think